Eat // One-Pot Super Veggie Rice

Eat // One-Pot Super Veggie Rice

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-header

There are good days and there are bad days. And… there are lazy days. Unless it’s a special occasion, I find it extremely tough to whip up a nice meal after a long day at work. The easiest alternative is to order take-out, but that’s not the healthiest solution to be honest. Choices, choices. Thankfully though, a genius came up with the idea of one-pot meals and weeknight dinners have never looked so good!

Since I discovered one-pot meals, I must admit that they are my ultimate comfort and lazy (healthy) food. It’s completely fuss and stress free, and it’s the perfect meal for the mid week blues. I like how I do not have to stress over getting the ingredients stated on the recipe list. And I like how my comforting dinner can be ready in a mere half hour, AND I do not have to stand by the stove, making sure nothing burns…

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-01

Just fresh vegetables, rice and a rice cooker. That’s all that is needed to create the heartiest and healthiest one-pot meal. Ever.

This recipe is adapted from a YouTube video I saw on tomato rice. I wanted something heartier than just tomato and rice, which led to the birth of my One-Pot Super Veggie Rice! Perfect for Jia and I, as we load up on vegetables for ‘Vegetarian Lunch November‘.

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-02

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-03

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-05

One-Pot Super Veggie Rice
Recipe inspired by Ochikeron’s Whole Tomato Rice
Serves 2 hungry people + leftovers for the next day’s lunch

Ingredients:
2-3 types of fresh vegetables such as broccoli, cauliflower, pumpkin, corn
1 packet of brown Shimeji mushroom
2 large tomatoes
1 cup of unpolished brown rice
1/2 cup of oats
1/2 cup mixed grains (black beans, barley, etc.)
1 1/4cup of water or chicken or veggie broth

For the Seasoning:
1tbsp of sesame oil
1tbsp of light soy sauce
A pinch of pepper

Garnish with…
Coriander
Toasted Sesame Seeds

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-04

Instructions:
Cut up veggies (except tomatoes) and set aside.
Make small cuts on the top of the tomato but do not cut through.
In the rice pot, add rice and wash well with water. Add 1 1/4cups of water/stock to the washed rice, then add in seasoning to the rice and stock mixture. Stir well.
Add in cut up veggies and ‘bury’ tomatoes in the rice.
Put the rice pot in the electric cooker, and let it cook away.

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-06

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-07

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-08

Min’s Tip No. 1: If you do not like your mushrooms and broccoli soft and soggy, let the rice cook for 15 minutes before adding them in. The first time I left everything in the pot to cook and thereafter, I couldn’t find my broccoli! I had cut the pieces up too small and it was way too soft by the time the rice was cooked.

Min’s Tip No. 2: I usually use unpolished Japanese brown rice or red rice for this recipe. The cooked rice comes out in a lovely shade of purple and it makes my meal look even more appetising. And bonus points for the use of brown rice!

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-09

I would usually take a shower while waiting for the rice to cook. I love how the house smells like when the rice is done! My neighbours must think of me as a genius chef! Haha!

Break the tomato and give the rice a good mix before serving! If you really feel like having some meat, you can also serve the rice with some shredded rotisserie chicken or miso roasted tofu (not meat, but yum)! Mmmmmm….

honeyandgazelle-recipe-eat-super-veggie-rice-10

How does this recipe sound for a mid-week meal? Hope you’ll try it out and let us know what you think! 🙂

Have a Super Power day!

x Min

Leave a comment